TKAMB21: To Kill A Mockingbird Meets the 21st Century

cover copy

So how to you take a classic book and make it relevant to kids today?  You include facebook, twitter, and im into the project.  My 8th graders ate this project up!  If you want to see if your students truly have a grasp of character development, have them write tweets as that character.  Check out my students’ TKAMB21 projects here!  This project idea can be used for social studies as well…imagine creating a facebook page for a historical character! Click here to see the original instructions.

2011 Update:

Since we’ve moved to a Google Platform, I formatted the assignment for Google Docs and used a Google Site to showcase their work. Templates for Google can be found here.

Also, I just read two books that are not appropriate for students, but a total riot for adults that explore this type of writing:

12 thoughts on “TKAMB21: To Kill A Mockingbird Meets the 21st Century

  1. Pingback: To Kill A Mockingbird Meets 21st Century « Stories of Learning

  2. Nick Senger

    I just saw the story about this on Stories of Learning and had to leave a comment here as well. Thanks for sharing. Your project will be great to try with my 8th graders after we finish reading Les Miserables next week. Thanks again!

  3. Pingback: Use Social Networks to Teach Kids about Literature

  4. Pingback: ICT West Coast » Blog Archive » Bringing Characters to life

  5. Pingback: JonathanFSullivan.com » Blog Archive » Catechizing Digital Natives – Footnotes and Further Reading

  6. Michael Cohen

    I love this idea. I run a class website with my students http://www.book-space.com and want to have them try their hand at making a facebook page and im conversation for their characters. You mention in your instructions the word document that they should put their final copy in. Do you have a copy of the original word document? Thanks so much! I can’t wait to see how the kids react to this!

  7. jenny forester

    Hi! I would love to incorporate this into my lesson plan I am preparing for my technology class…working on my MAT degree at 54 years of age…..baaahhhh! I couldn’t figure out (that is a usual occurence for me) the “Montgomery website for the 140 character count” assignment. Is that a specific website they can create an account to twitter on?
    Thanks so much for your willingness to share your creativity!

  8. Pingback: To Kill a Mockingbird « READINGPOWER

  9. Pingback: To Kill a Mockingbird | EPSHS Library

  10. Pingback: To Kill a Mockingbird | Library

Leave a Reply